Petroleum Leeds

The Turbidites Research Group


The Turbidites Research Group comprises Leeds-based workers, externally-based Associates, students and other collaborators. We also enjoy links with other groups from across the world.

Staff from the University of Leeds

Prof Bill McCaffrey - Principal Investigator
Dr Adam McArthur - Research Fellow - Co-Investigator
Dr Alan Burns - Computational Fluid Dynamics Lead
Dr Luca Colombera - Research Fellow
Dr Gareth Keevil - Experimental Officer
Dr Marco Patacci - Associate Research Fellow
Dr Roman Soltan - Research Assistant

Staff from the University of Hull

Dr Rob Dorrell - Co-Investigator

PhD Students

Damilola Adekanye (Leeds)
Paul Allen (Leeds)
Laura Buehrig (Leeds)
Marco Carnevale (Milan, Italy)
Adriana Crisostomo Figueroa (Leeds)
Isabel de Cala (Leeds)
Marijke de Vet (Hull)
Sojiro Fukuda (Hull)
Alan Pitts (Camerino, Italy)
Daniel Tek (Leeds)


Dr Lawrence Amy (University College Dubin, Ireland)
Dr Jaco Baas (University of Bangor, Wales)
Prof Rob Butler (University of Aberdeen, UK)
Dr Claudio Di Celma (University of Camerino, Italy)
Prof Andrea Di Giulio (University of Pavia, Italy)
Dr Mason Dykstra (Consultant)
Dr Joris Eggenhuisen (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)
Dr Fabrizio Felletti (University of Milano, Italy)
Dr Fabiano Gamberi (Institute of Marine Sciences, Bologna, Italy)
Dr Bill Hakes (Consultant)
Prof Peter Haughton (University College Dublin, Ireland)
Dr Mattia Marini (University of Milano, Italy)
Dave McGee (AIM GeoAnalytics)
Dr Bill Morris (Consultant)
Dr Pierre Mueller (University of Pavia, Italy)
Dr Takeshi Nakajima (Geological Survey of Japan)
Dr Hans Nelson (University of Granada, Spain)
Dr Miquel Poyatos-More (University of Oslo, Norway)
Dr Andy Pulham (Consultant)
Dr Erik Scott (EOG Resources)
Dr Lorna Strachan (Auckland University, New Zealand)

TRG Alumni

Dr Omar Al Ja'aidi, Shell
Dr Lawrence Amy, University College Dublin, Ireland
Dr Armin Arfaie, Contracting engineer, automotive industry
Dr Jaco Baas, University of Bangor, UK
Dr Simon Barker, Statoil
Dr Jochem Bijkerk, Shell
Dr Rufus Brunt, University of Manchester, UK
Dr Claudio Ivan Casciano, University of Catania, Italy
Dr Caroline Choux, Secondary Physics Teacher, UK
Dr Sophie Cullis
Dr Chris Davis, Consultant
Dr Adriana Del Pino-Sanchez, University of Leeds
Dr Rob Dorrell, University of Hull
Dr Joris Eggenhuisen, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
Dr Laura Faulkenberry, Nexen, US
Dr Rob Kelly
Dr Mattia Marini, University of Milan, Italy
Dr Marco Patacci, Italian Red Cross, Italy
Dr Maarten Felix, SINTEF Petroleum Research
Dr Christine Fildes, Anadarko
Dr Marco Fonnesu, ENI, Italy
Dr Luan Ho, Imperial College London, UK
Dr James Hoyes, Health and Safety Laboratory, UK
Dr Ian Kane, University of Manchester, UK
Dr Pierre Mueller, University of Pavia, Italy
Dr Carlos Silva, Petrobras
Dr Sarah Southern, University of Calgary, Canada
Dr Lorna Strachan, Auckland University, New Zealand
Dr Riccardo Teloni, GeoMORE, University of Camerino, Italy
Dr Myron Thomas, Shell
Dr Iris Verhagen, University of Liverpool, UK
Dr Jamie Vinnels, Statoil
Dr Ke Yam, Curtin University, Malaysia
Dr Rob Whittleston, Nuclear Decommissioning Authority, UK